The Buffalo Bills began their professional football adventure in 1960. In the former American Football League (AFL), the Bills won titles in 1964 and 1965. The team joined the National Football League (NFL) in 1970, following the merger of the NFL and the AFL. The Bills hold several distinctive records that are not to be claimed by any other NFL team. The Bills won four AFC championships, played in four consecutive Super Bowl games and lost all four consecutively. The Bills frequently square-off against their divisional rivals: the New York Jets, Miami Dolphins and New England Patriots.

The team struggled for a couple years after entering the NFL, but the Bills went to the playoffs in 1974. In this era the Bills were referred to as the “Electric Company,” boasting a tough offensive line and a league record in rushing yards led by running back O.J. Simpson. He is the only player to rush over 2,000 yards in a season before seasons were expanded to 16 games.

The Bills fluctuated for the remainder of the decade, but went on to win their first AFC East title in 1980. In 1988, the Bills went to their first of four consecutive Super Bowl appearances. In 1998 and 1999 quarterback Doug Flutie helped take the Bills to two consecutive playoff appearances. Other notable former Bills players include Jack Kemp, Jim Kelly and Andre Reed.

Members of the AFC East Division, the team’ arena seats over 70,000 fans. An open air stadium, it’ perfect for enjoying a Bills game outdoors. See some of the finest professional football when you purchase your Buffalo Bills tickets today!